Posted by: Ross Gardner | January 18, 2012

Frost

A few days of delightful frost-laden mornings.  The tired winter countryside given a fresh lease of aesthetic life.  I try to capture it via the lens.  Not as easy as you might think, and I am, in photography terms, something of  “an idiot with a good camera”.  There are times when I bemoan the often excessive and sometimes wasteful use of technology in our lives (yes, I do see the irony of saying that whilst sitting at a computer, composing an article to be posted on the internet), but hooray for the digital SLR that can hide my multitude of photographic sins and allow me to produce some okay and sometimes even rather nice pictures.

I tried and sort of managed it, but even with the photographic know-how, would I ever really be able to capture with lens the emotional associations that I experience at certain times and places?  It is a most enjoyable thing to at least try.

Frosted winter grass. Ross Gardner.

Fosted alder catkins. Ross Gardner.

On the subject of photography, you might be interested in checking out Jeffrey Foltice’s blog, who was good enough to start following this blog and who clearly does know what to do with a camera.  It seems that West Michigan has been getting rather more than just heavy frosts just lately.

Leave a Reply

Categories

